Is hummus gluten free?

Hummus is a paste that originates from the Middle East and in general it is gluten-free, but this is not always the case. Traditionally made humus is 100% gluten-free but this can not be said for all the brands in the stores. The main ingredient in hummus is chickpeas. The other ingredients that humus is made from, besides chickpea, are fresh garlic, tahini (sesame paste) and fresh squeezed lemon juice, so it contains a wide variety of vitamins and minerals important for a healthy diet. All these ingredients are, including tahini, gluten free.

black eyed pea hummus

To be 100% sure that the hummus you are buying has no gluten, look for those brands that are labeled gluten free. In any case, it is the best to read the labels. In many products on the market as one of the ingredient you may see flour. But the best way to ensure yourself, and stop thinking is hummus gluten free, is to make your own homemade hummus. There are several ways to make it, and many argue that homemade hummus tastes better than the one from the stores.

To fully enjoy the humus you need a gluten free bread or a gluten-free crackers. And for the full experience, grilled vegetables goes best with hummus.

Related Posts